Presidency College Chennai Logo



CHENNAI - 600005

Reaccredited by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council with Grade "A"
Tamil Nadu Government Under Taken


For each department there is an Association which meets periodically to discuss the matters related to its special subject. The following associations are recognized:

  • The Andhra Bhashabhivardhani
  • The Botany Association
  • The Chemical Society
  • The Commerce Association
  • The Computer Science Association
  • The Corporate Secretaryship Association
  • The Economic Association
  • The English Association
  • The Geology
  • The Geography Association
  • The Sanskrit Association
  • The Hindi Association
  • The History Association
  • The Malayalam Association
  • The Mathematical Association
  • The Microbiological Association
  • The Political Science and Pub.Admin Association
  • The Physics Association
  • The Psychology Association
  • The Sanskrit Association
  • The Statistics Association
  • The Tamil Manavar Sangam
  • The Zoological Society

All the above Departmental Associations in the Colleges shall be governed by the following rules and regulations.

  1. Every department offering B.A/ B.Sc.,/ B.Com/ M.A/ M.Sc.,/ MCA/ M.Com., courses shall have a Departmental Association. All the students of the department undergoing any course conducted in the department will be the members of the Associations concerned and shall pay the prescribed annual subscription in the manner specified by the Principal. Each Association will meet periodically to discuss matters related to the subject concerned
  2. The Principal shall be Patron of every Association and each association shall have the following office-bearers:
    President Head of the Department
    Vice President and Treasurer Senior most staff member next to the Head of the Dept.
    Secretary A student of the M.A.,/ M.Sc., / M.Com., / M.C.A class
    Joint-Secretary A student of the B.A.,/ B.Sc.,/ B.Com., class.
    In the case of the department not offering B.A.,/ B.Sc.,/ B.Com., there shall be no Joint-Secretary and in the case of department not offering M.A.,/ M.Sc.,/ M.Com.,/ M.C.A., the secretary shall be student of B.A., B.Sc., B.Com., class and there shall be no Joint-Secretary
  3. Election of office-bearers (iii) and (iv) in (b) above will be conducted by the members of the Association among themselves subject to the conditions stipulated. The election for any academic year shall be conducted after the re-opening of the College for the academic years. The Head of the Department wil conduct the election.

Visitor Counter

Flag Counter